PLN Blog Challenge – Compare and Contrast

A new PLN-proposed blog challenge…. by Anne Hodgson and turned into a challenge by Brad Patterson.

Choose two photos to “compare and contrast”.

Now, if you have read some of my posts – or have known me for some time – you know I have a problem with challenges – or rather my inability to decline them. It’s a weakness, one that has been very linguistically fruitful πŸ™‚

But as I was looking through photos to choose a couple for the challenge, I caught myself looking at it a little differently. I have always focused on ELT here, but this challenge will take a more… personal.

So here are my 2 photos:

One little ballerina...

And…

... and another ballerina - and a fan πŸ˜‰

  • Who are the people in the pictures and how are they related?
  • How do the clothes indicate different situations, despite the obvious similarity (ballet dancers)?
  • What are the similarities – other than the subject being ballerinas?
  • How could you use this in class? What else could you focus on despite comparatives (and superlatives?)

It’d be great to see a lot of people taking up the challenge, so why don’t you???

Others who have taken up the challenge:

Baiba Svenca

Ceri Jones

Chiew Pang

Janet Bianchini

Michael Harrison

22 comments on “PLN Blog Challenge – Compare and Contrast

  1. Anne says:

    Thia is so sweet! Like mother, like daughter πŸ™‚ Did you both go to pointe? I didn’t, changed to modern dance instead. I remember going to dance classes just down the street from our house on Capitol Hill, and my mother would also go, but to a different class. She did exercises and yoga up to her old age, which is definitely a good thing. You’re inpiring to sign up again for dance classes, Cecilia!
    Warm regards,
    Anne

    • Sorry to disappoint you Anne… neither went to pointe. Me because I had a teacher who said I didn’t have the legs for a ballerina πŸ˜› My dancing days were over right then (except for a brief – and embarrassing – slip for “lambada” classes in the early 90s. Ahhh the mistakes of the youth!!! ;-)) And Gabi (my daughter) was just not disciplined or into it enough. She dropped after 4 years.

      I’m more like your mom… yoga and pilates for me πŸ™‚

      Thanks for starting this whole challenge!
      Sunny regards,

      Cecilia

  2. These two beautiful children obviously look like siblings. πŸ˜‰

    I think I’d see if the class would be interested in talking about their personal family resemblances… and maybe show a couple of funny pics of dogs who look like their masters… always makes me laugh.

    • Well, the 2 on the second picture are siblings… but you know them! πŸ˜‰

      I like the time passage quality of the photos… Think I’d explore something along those lines… But I love those pets and their masters photos too πŸ˜‰

      Cheers, B.

  3. Nice! Mum at the top and daughter below… very nice!

    – JR

  4. Chiew says:

    Que linda!
    I’d say the one below is a better ballerina πŸ˜‰ Just joshing…

  5. Boy… i am daft… luckily Jason’s around to look a bit closer ! Little CC… precious πŸ˜‰

  6. seburnt says:

    Very cute. When’s the last time you put on that tutu?

    • Honey, that tutu wouldn’t get past one of my legs these days πŸ˜‰ I do have a secret desire to go back to ballet and wear a tutu, but think it’s past and gone. It requires dedication to be decent, I can’t afford that (time-wise) anymore…

      Maybe some time πŸ™‚ The pilates fulfills that a bit with some of its movements.

  7. My guess is that the second picture was taken at Christmas time (maybe an end of term production at a school), due to the “twinkly” lights in the bushes!!! Nice idea for an activity, CecΓ­lia.

    G.

    • Nice eyes Graeme!!! Yes, end of the year production is right… The beauty of the activity is that we can focus on many language structures as well as from different aspects. You just realized something I hadn’t though about – lights = Christmas time.

      Thanks!
      Ceci

  8. Tara Benwell says:

    Adorable! I couldn’t help notice that you are posing in front of a shelf of Encyclopedias. I remember loving my best friend’s living room because they had a shelf like that. She was a dancer too. All I wanted to do was play library. πŸ™‚

    • I was just talking about those encyclopedias today Tara!!! Telling my kids what it was like to do research for a project at school long before the internet and google πŸ˜‰ Ahh… Good old days!
      Beijo! πŸ™‚

  9. […] people put on there and the questions they asked were fantastic.Β  My favorite was the one by Cecilia Lemos with the ballerina pictures.Β  It was so cute and the questions really made you think about why and […]

Leave a comment